Who have you been with?

Acts 4:13 When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.

I have heard many people say that as couples grow old together, they begin to talk alike, act alike, and some even begin to look alike, most often that comes as a result of having spent so much time with the other. If I find someone I enjoy being around, and may want to be like, I want to spend time around them.

Why do many of us “Christians” not act like this about Christ, I know I am guilty myself of not spending nearly enough time communing with God, why do you think that is, what is the block?

I do think this is much different from spending time only in the Bible, I believe that is extremely important, but what does it look like for you to spend time with Jesus, you can know about him all day long, just like you could know about, or read about my wife, but you would not love her like I love her, unless you spend time around her.

Some translations of the words “had been” would be more literally translated “belonged to”

So how do you do it? What does it look like for you? Can people around you tell that you have been with or belong to Jesus, it takes time for us to get to know someone intimately, there are no shortcuts, where do you spend your time?

 

One thought on “Who have you been with?

  1. This was awesome Cory. You have given me much to think on this week. Hope you and your family are doing well.

    The Baileys,
    Butch, Rhonda, Brett and Alex

Leave a Reply

