No two snowflakes are different…

You know, I was looking at all the snow falling today and thinking about how silly we seem sometimes with our Science and our Carbon Dating and all this other stuff. Now don’t get me wrong, I am not anti-science, I do believe that there are many things that are natural and can be tested, repeated, and proven.

But as I was looking at the snowflakes today, I thought about the fact that all my life, I have heard it said, no two snowflakes are alike, it was explained to me as a child that when scientists studied snowflakes under a microscope, they never found two snowflakes alike, that they are all different and unique, and the teacher would make some grand point about how individualistic we all are and how special, yadda yadda yadda.

Today, my cynical response to that statement would probably be to say, well Mr. Scientist, you just haven’t looked at enough snowflakes, there are billions and billions of snowflakes, how can you possibly know that no tow are alike, have you checked them all. Anyhow, I’m ranting. But the main thing I thought about today, was that there is so much we take on faith from Science, and so little we take on faith sometimes from the Bible, which Christians are supposed to have the most Faith in.

For example: Sure we live on a round planet spinning 2000 miles per hour using this huge burning ball of gas for our heat and light during the day, and sure dinosaurs existed billions of millenia ago because the carbon dating we have been using for at least 75 years says so, and sure, everybody knows no two snowflakes are alike, duh!! But I find it hard to believe that this Abraham guy was really going to kill his son Isaac, or that the Red sea was opened to let a million people through, or even that Jesus was a man, and literally, physically, was raised from the dead.

It made me stop and think about how small I am, and even if you don’t believe in God or Jesus or whatever, everyone has to have faith in something, What is your faith in…really?  I was just reassured, that what I put my faith in is secure, that’s how God spoke to me today, all with a teeny…tiny…snowflake.

2 thoughts on “No two snowflakes are different…

  1. Wow. You make some really good points.

    One thing I have to say, is that after taking chemistry class, and reading about how carbon dating works, I’m pretty confident in it.
    http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/archaeology/dating/radio_carbon.html

    Also, carbon dating is only accurate for about 50,000 years, so scientists would not use carbon dating for the dinosaurs (who lived millions of years ago.)

    Thanks for the post. I found it while searching for ‘snowflakes’.

    1. Thanks for the feedback, that’s some solid info, my basis was that it was a theoretical science if you don’t have a solid baseline from 25 or 50,000 years ago to compare it to. I understand the process and theory behind it, similar to projecting future statistics for growth etc. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

