Are we moving too fast?

I was listening this morning while my kids were watching Sesame street, and I heard something I hadn’t heard in years, it was the story of the Tortoise and the Hare, as I was reflecting on how long it had been since I heard that story, I felt like God spoke to my heart.

In my own life, and I think in our society today, we tend to do things at a rapid pace and expect rapid results, and we forget the very basic lessons from our childhood. Slow and Steady wins the race. Here are some things I feel we expect today.

We expect young church planting pastors to have the wisdom and maturity of seasoned veterans.

We expect to read a few books on a subject and be experts right away.

We expect teenagers to turn into adults at the age of 18, but we have failed to teach them responsibility throughout the teen years.

We expect traffic to run smoothly all the time.

We expect to workout for a week and work off 10 years of eating bad.

We have quick fixes for everything from Plastic surgery to stomach stapling, cliffs notes, Google searches, new churches, microwaves and Sudden Service Drive-thrus.

And in the end, shouldn’t we be geniuses, shouldn’t we have all this extra time, shouldn’t we retain all this info that we see, but we are not, and we don’t.

I wonder if in the natural order, the way God intended, we are all supposed to move slow and steady, so we can retain things, enjoy life, and in the end win the race. I’m reminded of a poem by Thoreau.

I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately, to suck the marrow from the bones of life; to put to rout all that was not life, and not to come to the end of life, and discover that I had not lived.
– Henry David Thoreau

2 thoughts on “Are we moving too fast?

  1. That was very insightful. I wish more people would or could realize this concept. Instead we are all running on a treadmill not getting anywhere.

Leave a Reply

