Your Calling Doesn’t matter!

Okay, so it does, I believe God has gifted and called us to do specific things in our lives. I’m personally discovering that I Love the one on one discussion/discipleship setting where you can really dig in to God’s word, I wake up thinking of fellowship and discipleship, I think of evangelism as well, but that’s the front door.

Okay, on to the bottom line, I came across Isaiah 61 this morning, here is what it says:

1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners, [a]

2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,

3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness
instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
a planting of the LORD
for the display of his splendor.

Preaching the Good news is the first thing that it’s talking about here that Jesus was all about, but it was only ONE thing, Look what else we are called to do:

Bind Up – Literally means to Bandage, Proclaim – To announce publicly, Release – To free from, Comfort – To soothe or encourage, Provide – To Furnish and Bestow – To give as a Gift.

If I am called to be a disciple of Christ, or a Christian “Little Christ” by my mirroring of what Jesus was called to do, I will not have to worry about my calling, because the natural by product of an obedient heart is a fruitful life/ministry/effect on people.

So Preach the good news, but don’t stop there, once people know the good news, they need healing, freedom and more, telling someone congratulations you are saved now keep going is similar to telling someone they have a broken leg but still need to finish the marathon, they need healing restoration and encouragement!

So what are you “Called” to do, or better yet, what do you naturally do already that can benefit God’s Kingdom?

Leave a Reply

