To Tattoo or not Tattoo

Guess what, I got a new tattoo, I love tattoos, I think they are an amazing way to make a statement of your faith, I have 5 tattoos, and 4 of them are faith based and either have a scripture or a symbol of Christianity or both. Since I have got my most recent tattoo, I have had a bunch of people sending me the verse Leviticus 19:28 and asking me about it, here is what the verse says.

Leviticus 19:28, “Do not cut your bodies for the dead, and do not mark your skin with tattoos. I am the Lord.”
Well it doesn’t get any clearer than that does it, I hear preachers preach this verse all the time and I guess that’s the bottom line isn’t it, well, maybe not.
If we look ahead in verse 19 it says this ” ‘Do not wear clothing woven of two kinds of material.”
Now wait just a minute, that preacher standing up there telling me about tattoos must be sinning too with his cotton/poly blend suit right?
CONTEXT CONTEXT CONTEXT!!!

This passage in Leviticus, including the surrounding text, is specifically dealing with the pagan religious rituals of the people living around the Israelites. God’s desire is to set his people apart from other cultures. The focus here is prohibiting worldly, heathen worship and witchcraft. God forbids his holy people to engage in idolatrous, pagan worship and sorcery which imitates the heathens. He does this out of protection, because he knows this will lead them away from the one true God.

It also states in verse 26 not to eat meat with blood in it, so a steak cooked medium is off limits.

I think there is Liberty in everything, 1 Cor 10:23 states that “Everything is permissible”—but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible”—but not everything is constructive. 24Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others.”

I think the question of having a tattoo is why are you getting it, is it to glorify God or as a sacrifice to a false God, as in the OT. Context is everything, I think it’s ignorant of pastors to preach something like this without understanding the context, if we are to make students of God’s word, we have to be in it ourselves FULLY!!

So don’t judge me, and by the way, here’s a picture of my new Tattoo

4 thoughts on “To Tattoo or not Tattoo

  1. Cory-
    I always find your writing inspiring. What you write usally makes me think about things a little differently than I did before.
    Thanks for making me think.
    Dad

  2. Awesome Armor of God tattoo. I always look forward to your RSS feeds that I get at work. Thanks for breaking into my day of busy life to make me reflect.

  3. Very nice tattoo, nicely done, i think one of the main things about tattoo is where you do it, i can see you’ve got a good place. Congrats on a tattoo.

Leave a Reply

