21 Day Fast – DAY 13 – September 10, 2011

HOMESTRETCH

Keith Boyer, Lead Pastor of Crossroads

 

HOMESTRETCH… How are you feeling about being on the “homestretch” of your 21 days of prayer and fasting? Are you looking forward to next week, when you can go back to the things that you’ve gone without? If you are, there’s nothing wrong with that. Nobody expects us to fast forever…just consistently.

I received an e-mail from someone during their 21-day challenge, sharing how they’re feeling about being on the homestretch… “As I approached the fast I thought we would do Tuesdays and Thursdays. That would work out well with ‘our plans’. So when Jan came down Monday morning and asked me if I had eaten my muffin and cereal I said, “no I think God wants us to step-up our fast and really make it for Him.” I suggested we take a crack at a full juice fast. She agreed 100%. Now here we are in the final week and I know we will make it to the end. When I told Jan we needed to step the fast up that Monday morning, I was really unsure if I could pull it off. I just told God, if this is what you want me to do then sustain me. HE HAS! I am now 20 pounds lighter, my spirit is refreshed, and things of this world seem a lot less troublesome to me…and we feel almost melancholy about the end of the fast.

For me it’s a mixed bag. There is a part of me that doesn’t want to step away from all that has been gained … or lost if you’re looking at it in relationship to weight. There’s another part of me that is really hungry for an “unguarded” meal.

Here’s what I’d like to leave you with as we enter the homestretch… maintain what you’ve gained! How?

 

 

Continue to create space for God to fill. Determine what aspects of what you did for a season can become a lifestyle. Ex. Daily Bible reading; fasting one day per week or one meal per day.

 

Keep praying audacious prayers… during your quiet time and in community. Let’s make Crossroads Church a “house of prayer” and as a result, a place where miracles happen and the impossible is made possible!

 

Finish strong… you’ll be glad you did! After all, the best is yet to come … God is going to crown the year with a bountiful harvest … even the hard pathways are going to OVERLFOW with abundance! (PS. 65:11)

 

Bible Reading: Phillipians 3

Leave a Reply

