21 Day Fast – Day 15 – September 12. 2011

Comfortable

Cory Bolduc, Crossroads Winnebago Campus Pastor

I was driving a few months ago, my 16 hour trek to Illinois and saw some of God’s beautiful creation on the way, saw many mountains, tree covered hills, corn, corn, and I even saw a bit of corn. Now the first 5 hours of this trip I have done may times on my way back and forth to Kingsport, and I knew the route I was taking took me on the same roads, so even though I had my GPS hooked up, I really didn’t pay much attention to it for the first 5 hours, because I knew where I was going, I had been there before, I was comfortable.

The last 11 hours of the trip were all uncharted territory for me, I relied solely on the GPS to tell me where I needed to go, what turns I needed to make and what I needed to avoid, and while following the GPS I was looking around at so much new scenery that I had never seen before, it was such an adventure. I saw a wind farm that blew my mind, it was the most gigantic windmills I had ever seen and they went for miles and miles and I was literally in awe of the pure majesty of it, I cut through the mountains getting glimpses of peaks and valleys that were stunnung, that I had never seen before, I came through the city of Chicago, which I beleive is one of the most beautiful cities in America and saw massive buildings with a beautiful lake as a backdrop.

As I traveled, I thought about my life and my relationship with God. In the past, and even occasionally now, I, and I know many others who slip into a rut of being, Comfortable. We spend our lives wandering around in territory that we are familiar with, doing the same ol’ same ol’ day in and day out. Now I am not at all against consistency and stability, but I do beleive we need to keep a check on our relationships when we live lives of comfortability, because just like the GPS, if we too often stay in our comfort zone, God could become a “just in case” in our lives instead of something we have to depend on. We could become so familiar with God, that we pay him no attention. That’s not what the Christian life is about.

I beleive God has called us to an adventure, the great commision tells us to GO into all the world, that command implies action, that we are to step out of where we are comfortable, reach people that are otherwise unreachable, let God be your GPS, and on the adventure He has called you to, you will see some of the most majestic, beautiful, creations and miracles that God has done, and live a life that is Ephesians 3:20 “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us”

 

Bible Reading: John 15

Leave a Reply

