Where Eagles Dare

I saw something the other day on ESPN that bothered me.

It was really out of the ordinary and uncharacteristic for the situation and the subject, and I have been meditating on it for a few days and asking God why it bothered me so much. It was almost as if while I was watching it my heart was aching, and I only saw it for about 10 seconds.

What I saw was an Eagle, a Bald Eagle to be exact, and he was in a stadium, not sure if it was baseball or football, but he was flying  around inside the stadium and couldn’t get out, a few times he even smacked into the plexiglass windows that are on the front of the suites that some businesses own before he finally flew out of the stadium.

So why did this bother me, why did this seem to affect me so deeply?

Because Eagles are meant to soar!

What I saw was this creature that was so majestic and beautiful, surrounded by something that was completely foreign to him, and he didn’t know what to do or where to go, a creature that was meant to soar, so scared and nervous that all he could do was flap his wings and smack into things trying desperately to get back to a place where he could soar on the winds again. I’m not sure how he got into the stadium or why, maybe he was chasing something or became wounded and fell into the stadium, I’m not sure, but it was humbling to see something so majestic in such a position of helplessness.

Often times when I think of Christians and the church, I think we are like that Eagle, we are made by God as majestic and beautiful creatures, and we are meant to soar on the winds of His Holy Spirit, we are meant for people to look at us in awe of what out lives look like and the things we do with His help.

But all too often, whether by accident, wounding, or chasing something that is contrary to what God has called us to, we end up flying around in a Statium…lost. Feverishly flapping our wings and smacking into windows as people look on, laugh at us and broadcast it to everyone they know how foolish we look.

My Prayer today for myself and for you is this, that your Hope will be in our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, that we will know deep in the very pit of who we are, that we are “Made for Greatness” and that as Isaiah 40:31 says “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Leave a Reply

