You’re such a Poser

The Urban Dictionary definition of a Poser is 1.one who pretends to be someone they are not or who tries to fit in but with exaggeration.

In todays society, we have many posers, whether you are dissatisfied with your life or you just want to be something you are not, often times when we suffer from an identity crisis, we revert to being  a poser so the people around us won’t truly know who we are…why, because we don’t know and if they find out, it might not be something we…or they for that matter will like.

So we resort to our posing ways, and as a self proclaimed recovering poser, I struggled with this for many years of my life.

* I would be a poser at work, sending out emails at all times of the day and night to put on the appearance that i was working hard, when most of the day I was not.

* I would be a poser at church, praying loudly and passionately in front of people for the sake of their approval but not spending any time in prayer when I was by myself. Worshiping passionately on the front row even though inside I was just going through the motions.

* I would be a poser with my family, trying to gain approval by acting or being who I thought they wanted or needed me to be instead of really being myself and knowing they would accept me for who i was.

My posing, people pleasing ways, quickly grew into hypocrisy. I was living a life that was not my own. And I reached a point where I no longer knew who I was… if you asked me what I liked to do, or wanted to do, I couldn’t tell you, because I didn’t know.

I realized that I was having an Identity Crisis, because I didn’t know what my Identity in Christ was.

I had a head knowledge of Christ, but got so caught up in the busyness of everything else, that I didn’t have an intimate relationship with my creator. I want to encourage you if you are reading this today, that your identity is not based in your job, family, past, finances, position or achievements, it’s given to you by the one who created you, and He says in Jeremiah 29:11 that He has plans to prosper you and to give you a hope and a future. Luke 12:7, He says the hairs on your head are numbered.

But often times when we don’t know who we are, we don’t feel worthy of His love and sacrifice, we don’t feel like He has a plan for Me, we don’t feel like what He did on the cross to gain relationship with me is enough.

I pray today that you set aside the poser, the hypocrite, the mask, and open yourself up to the only one who can truly transform your life, Jesus Christ.

 

Leave a Reply

